Saturday, October 9, 2010

Lorenzo takes MotoGP world title

New MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo
Lorenzo has dominated the season and never finished lower than fourth in a race this year

Jorge Lorenzo has been crowned MotoGP world champion after finishing third in the Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang.

The Fiat Yamaha rider came home behind Valentino Rossi and Andrea Dovizioso, which was enough for him to secure the title with three races to go.

Reigning champion Rossi started sixth, slipped down to 11th but worked his way back up and into the lead on lap 10.

Rossi, whose season was disrupted by a broken leg, held on for his first win since the opening day of the season.

Going into Sunday's race, the world title was already Lorenzo's to lose.


He only need finish in the top 10 to be crowned champion in succession to team-mate and rival Rossi, and with the Spaniard's worst finish this year having been fourth, that was never in serious doubt.

Before Sepang, Lorenzo had taken control of the world title race with seven wins.

Defending champion Rossi's season never recovered after he broke his leg at the German Grand Prix in Sacshsenring, meaning Lorenzo's fellow Spaniard Dani Pedrosa was his only serious rival for the title.

But hopes of an end of season battle between the pair were dashed when Pedrosa crashed in practice for last weekend's Japanese Grand Prix, breaking his collarbone and putting him out of the races in Japan and Malaysia, although he hopes to return next week in Australia.

More to follow

Malaysian MotoGP result:

1 V Rossi (Ita) Fiat Yamaha 41:03.448
2 A Dovizioso (Ita) Repsol Honda
3 J Lorenzo (Sp) Fiat Yamaha
4 B Spies (USA) Tech 3 Yamaha
5 A Bautista (Spa) Rizla Suzuki
6 N Hayden (USA) Ducati
7 H Aoyama (Jpn) Interwetten Honda
8 M Simoncelli (Ita) Gresini Honda
9 M Melandri (Ita) Gresini Honda
10 R de Puniet (Fr) LCR Honda
11 H Barbera (Sp) Paginas Amarillas Aspar Ducati
12 M Kallio (Fin) Pramac Ducati

World championship standings:

1 J Lorenzo (Sp) Yamaha 313
2 D Pedrosa (Sp) Honda 228
3 V Rossi (It) Yamaha 181
4 C Stoner (Aus) Ducati 180
5 A Dovizioso (It) Honda 179
6 B Spies (US) Yamaha 152
7 N Hayden (US) Ducati 139
8 R de Puniet (Fr) Honda 94
9 M Simoncelli (It) Honda 92
10 M Melandri (It) Honda 86
11 C Edwards (US) Yamaha 81
12 H Barbera (Sp) Ducati 74
13 A Bautista (Sp) Suzuki 69
14 A Espargaro (Sp) Ducati 52
15 H Aoyama (Jpn) Honda 44
16 L Capirossi (It) Suzuki 41
17 M Kallio (Fin) Ducati 38
18 A de Angelis (SM) Honda 11
19 RL Hayden (US) Honda 5
20 K Akiyoshi (Jpn) Honda 4
21 W Yoshikawa (Jpn) Yamaha 1

Potenshöjande medel - köp viagra

No comments: